Lies we tell our parents

  1. Yes, I ate all my broccoli.
  2. I told you before, I don’t have any homework!
  3. It wasn’t me.
  4. I’m fine!
  5. I hate you! (slam door)
  6. I promise I’ll feed it andclean the cage every day!

    “I promise I’ll feed it and clean the cage!”

  7. I’ll be back by 11 o’clock.
  8. It’s NOT LIKE that!
  9. I don’t know what you mean.
  10. You don’t know what I mean.
  11. It was different in your day.
  12. No, (eye roll) he did NOT stay all night! He left just after you guys went to bed!
  13. I’m not cold.

I was a good kid, that is why this list is so short. I’m not such a great mum, evidently, since my list of lies we tell our kids is much longer… Oh well. Time for another chocolate.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. meladjusted
    May 26, 2012 @ 17:48:28

    You might not be such a great mum because your children are not old enough yet to fill out the score card that you give them once you raise them! duh!

    Oh and you’re such a square! Here are some more lies:
    I swear Mom, the guy at the shop just gave it to me.
    This 8 week old puppy really did follow me home.
    I don’t know how the burglar bars came loose, I’ve been at risk of being burgled this whole time and you don’t even care!
    I’m holding it for a friend.
    One beer, really, only one. (vomitting after this one will just prove that you’re lying)
    Yes, there are going to be parents at the party.
    etc. ;-D

    Reply

    • mj monaghan
      May 31, 2012 @ 05:55:49

      Hmm, Mel, sounds like you knew/know all the tricks. Who’s the suspect now??

      Reply

      • meladjusted
        May 31, 2012 @ 10:16:45

        ha! Of course I did it all in the name of being a better parent to my own little liars in a decades time 🙂 – Sadly, I believe there will be new tricks and I would have forgotten some of them by then too. Ah, the cycle of life….

  2. ericanexpress
    May 26, 2012 @ 21:37:02

    whahahahaha!!! thanks, Mel, I was hoping you could flesh out this measly post for me :))

    Reply

  3. mj monaghan
    May 31, 2012 @ 05:56:35

    Erica, I thought you did a great job with your list … until “bad girl” Mel weighed in. Right?!

    Reply

Leave a comment